Oudtshoorn
Early explorations & surveys
Back to main History page

1890: Cango Caves was extended from the African Drum Room to the Grand Hall. Lt.Gen. Henry Augustus Smyth, who visited these parts, donated an iron ladder (Smythís Ladder).

1896: Johnny van Wassenaar broke through a narrow set of tunnels at the back section of the existing route in Cango. The first proper geological survey was made of the caves.

1897: G.S. Corstophine (Director)
H.J. Luttman-Johnson
W.J. Wallis discovered 12 new chambers

1956: SASA (South African Speleological Association) survey of Cango 1

1972: Luther Terblanche & James Craig-Smith discover Cango 2

1978: SASA Survey of Cango 3.

Back to main History page
Route 62 Info
Copyright © 2017  ::  Cango Caves  •  Site by:  WebWorX